Welfare 2017-04-28T12:44:21+00:00

Welfare Information


There are a great number of avenues where you can receive help and advice on a whole range of issues.

First you have your College Advisor and the many people at Kellogg – Fellows, fellow students and staff, as well as MCR events and the wider University.  We are all very happy to hear from you, whether your concern is small or large.

Junior Deans: Agne Gvozdevaite and Max Buston  – junior.dean@kellogg.ox.ac.uk The Junior Deans may be approached for any welfare or academic issue, particularly where a student is not sure who to contact for further advice. Whilst they cannot always solve the issue they can listen and provide good options to go forward with.

for out-of-hours assistance (i.e. 7.15pm – 8.30am) including key support and emergencies contact Max or Agne on 07932 951849

Alternatively MCR representatives can be approached with any issue:

MCR Welfare Rep: Tammo Rukat- tammo.rukat@kellogg.ox.ac.uk

MCR Womens Rep: Rachel Dlugatch – rachel.dlugatch@kellogg.ox.ac.uk.

MCR Disabilities Rep: Brahma Mohanty – brahma.mohanty@kellogg.ox.ac.uk

 

College Welfare Officer: Sarah O’Brien – sarah.obrien@kellogg.ox.ac.uk Sarah is your primary point of contact for any type of welfare concern. Feel free to drop in to Sarah’s office at any time during the week or send a quick email to arrange an appointment. Sarah is best placed to provide College and coordinated support across the University, these include with Accommodation, Counselling Service, Disability Advisory Service and many more. Sarah will treat your conversations in confidence.

The Dean: Alistair Ross (Fellow) – alistair.ross@kellogg.ox.ac.uk

The Senior Tutor: Carl Heneghan (Fellow) – carl.heneghan@kellogg.ox.ac.uk

Disability Officer (Welfare Officer & Academic Administrator): Sarah O’Brien – sarah.obrien@kellogg.ox.ac.uk

Equality/Harasment Officers: Robert Vanderplank (Fellow) – robert.vanderplank@kellogg.ox.ac.uk & Alison MacDonald (Fellow) – alison.macdonald@conted.ox.ac.uk

LGBTQ Contact: Idalina Baptista (Fellow) – idalina.baptista@kellogg.ox.ac.uk

Medical Emergencies: http://www.ox.ac.uk/students/welfare/health/emergencies

Some College links may be found here: http://www.kellogg.ox.ac.uk/welfare/


In addition there are MCR events including:

Tea & Cakes on Wednesdays – superb cakes made in-house by the Kellogg catering team served at 4.00pm in the MCR, each Wednesday during term.

DPhil Lunches – an informal chance to get to know likeminded Kellogg DPhil students, part- and full-time, meeting by the bar at 12.30. Free sparkling wine and elderflower cordial is served. The next lunch is on Thursday the 19th of February 2015.

The MCR hosts many social events and parties throughout term and the holidays, so do check these out on the Events pages.


Outside of Kellogg a range of support is available, including:

The Oxford University Student Union, particularly Charlotte Hendy, the Welfare and Equal Opportunities Officer welfare@ousu.org, and the Student Advice Service at advice@ousu.org

A blog that re-brands mental health:   http://inmyheadcase.com/

Oxford University Counselling Service – 01865 270300 – counselling@admin.ox.ac.uk

Disability Advisory Service – 01865 289850 – disability@admin.ox.ac.uk

Equality and Diversity Unit – 01865 289825

Harassment Line/ Advisor Network – 01865 270760

Nightline – 01865 270270


If you’re not sure who to contact get in touch with someone at Kellogg – we’re here to help – and ensure you have an enjoyable time in Oxford.